There’s a better way by golly.

This weekend marked 2 months since we saw Trinity’s first seizure. It feels like I’ve been worried, researching and watching her like a hawk a LOT longer that that.  I was so worried initially that she’d have a 2nd seizure (well episode at the time) that I wanted to watch for that. Then after she had the 2nd and 3rd 2 days apart, and they were deemed seizures and she was put on phenobarb I had to watch her as she adjusted to the medicine. When she went thru the drunken stage I was afraid she’d fall and I still needed to know if the medicine was stopping the seizures. Then I read and was told that if you don’t taper down slow enough that can actually trigger more seizures. I’m almost 2/3 of the way down the taper instructions and now I feel like I need to stare at her to make sure I know if they come back. I wish she could just talk or understand me. It’d be so nice if she just say, “hey last night while you were sleeping I had another seizure out of the netcams view” so I’d know we needed to start the medicine back. Or I could tell her that it’ll be okay because I know it has to be scary having one and not being able to be told why and what is happening.  I added a few more netcams. Those things are wonderful for being a second pair of eyes when I have to run out for something and while I sleep. She no longer gobbles up the fish flavored phenobarb but knock on wood if I add freeze dried turkey she’s still eating it without me having to give it directly in her mouth. She has lost almost a pound ( a tenth of her weight) since the end of March, and that worries me on top of worrying about the crystals and seizures. Tomorrow we start the 3rd and final taper for a week. We haven’t seen a seizure since the end of March.

the right way to do it

the right way to do it

On the liquid medicine… there’s a better way by golly. Here I was thinking how stupid it was to give someone glue consistency phenobarb in a tall narrow opening bottle with a blue top thingy that didn’t fit and a syringe too short to suck up the medicine. After it became impossible to get any more out I took it back to the compound pharmacy and he showed me I was doing it all wrong. He was nice enough to say since no one showed me if I ran out they’d give me enough to finish out the prescription free of charge. He refrained from calling me an idiot. Apparently you’re supposed to force the blue thing on the bottle, put the syringe in the blue thing, hold it upside down and tap it on the counter than draw it down into the syringe that way. It’s a lot easier when you do it like it was intended.  I’m sharing that bit of info in hopes it will help someone else but hey go ahead and laugh at me. I did.
Trinity’s struvite crystals I think started to be a problem again. I am still looking into food and supplement options, but I had to go back to feeding her c/d again at least for now. Her extra itching, licking and chewing her feet are better than filling her bladder full of crystals. It’s not ideal and I’m really wishing a pet food company would just make a grain free no garbage food for acidifying urine. I know from Yahoo groups I’ve joined I’m not alone in not liking the choices out there.

waiting in line

waiting in line

Each of my cats wants whatever the other is eating. I mostly feed them in two different rooms but the other day Trinity left the sunroom (and her food she had to eat) to wait in line for whatever her brother left in his bowl. They are so jealous of each other it’s not even funny. I think Tyler would take a pill at least once just because Trinity got one. We both been concentrating on sharing attention equally on both cats when they’re alone and when they’re together so no one (or both) feel like they’re missing out.  I need to get online and buy some chondroitin glucosamine and I want to read some more about cornsilk. I read in my Yahoo groups it helps with bladder inflammation. Still working on my food list if any of you want to benefit from my efforts. I am holding off giving additional methionine at this time and am just trying to entice more water drinking.

Everyone knows this past weekend was mother’s day right? I decided I wanted another photo of my loving furbabies and me together. As soon as the camera comes out and I want both them near my with makeup and without pajamas on they act like I’m kryptonite. Look at Tyler’s ears 🙂

mothers day 2015 share My children have fur ~

Leave a Reply

