Do you read books? Here’s what authors want you to know.

I was thinking about writing this for non-authors just to give a sneak peek into the world of those of us making trying to make a living writing but I’ll end with a fact long time KDP authors may not know changed on July 1, 2015.  Photo from Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/12/04/amazon-warehouse-photos_n_2238828.html

Liking and sharing a post or news about our new books is very helpful as word of mouth is still the best advertising. Writing is a business not just a hobby for a lot of us. Authors spend their time and money writing, editing, having covers designed, plus tons of research and countless rewrites.

If you like a book…. tell someone about it.

Rate it and write a review on Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Goodreads. Now I thought the star rating was self-explanatory but let me clarify a 1 star means you hated the book and 5 star means you loved it.

If you didn’t read the description and it wasn’t what you expected giving a book a 1 start is a terrible thing to do to an author. If it was in a series and says so and you didn’t read the description and gave it a low rating because you read them out of order- that is not the same as a poorly written book. I mean we are not churning books out every week and it should truly be a terribly written book to be rated a 1 star.

I don’t rate every book I read because if I don’t have anything nice to say I’ll just not say anything. Also giving a rating because of the price of the book is not justified either. Most readers have no idea what the charges are for printing a book. An eBook cost less than say a full-color book printed in the USA. An author of an ‘expensive’ book may be making much less per book sale than an author selling a black and white paperback.

I’m not sure what the percentage is of readers that buy a book then rate it, but I know it’s pretty low on my own titles and from talking with other authors.  After years, I have fewer than 20 reviews on Amazon and less than 200 followers on my Facebook page.

Please know that I am NOT suggesting your write false reviews, give a review on a book you haven’t read. I have authors I like but occasionally I run into a book I don’t care for. I may find the topic or setting is hard for me to relate to or the language is bad which is a big peeve of mine.

I know how much goes into writing, I know the books we put out have a bit of our heart poured into them and I’ll just add it to Paperback swap and go on to my next read.

Now after I’ve published my first eBook and enrolled in Kindle select Amazon I know that they now pay only if a certain percent of your book is read not just borrowed with Prime.

Lastly some authors and publisher give specific links to buy their books. If you go and search for the book and buy it on your own I know they’re still grateful but if you click on the link provided you may be giving the author an extra few cents (really pennies) per sale but they add up. They help offset the printing and distribution fees just a tad. I’ll just say that most of the authors I know are not living lavish lifestyles from their efforts.

So if you like a book the nicest thing you can do for the author who could’ve spent years of their life writing said book is to help spread the word.  So take a moment, go to your favorite authors social pages and share a post, then take a minute to rate and write a review and tell a friend.

Leave a Reply

