My part in the making of Bill Ramsey’s cover.

Light SwirlsThis cover illustration is for author Bill Ramsey.1-custom

I was hired for the front cover. Bill and his publisher ended up using my concept idea by keeping similar text and colors but using just my light swirl illustration. 

I took the photo, “Light Swirls” and edited the color for the cover illustration. It was a photo of an LED light on a chain set to motion, shot as a long exposure in a dark room. This shot came to mind for 2 reasons. 1- The title “What do You Think” implies correctly that we all think something different. 2- The author didn’t have any specific ideas of what he wanted to see on the cover.

Here are a few of the mock ideas that he choose from. I was partial to the brain waves cover but it isn’t my book.

Originally the cover was not to have the question mark. The cover was completely done in every version, approved, and distributed to the author before the question mark was added. To keep from having me re-make another design, Joe with Escarpment Press ended up using just the light swirl illustration and asked what font I chose then adding his text to my illustration.

I customize text by adjusting the kerning, leading, tracking, size and scale. Might not sound like much, but if you ask me what I think? I think it makes a difference.

My cover is on the left, the cover used is on the right.

 


Without being asked I took it upon myself to play with a few other cover ideas for another one of Bill’s books, well… just because I do that sometimes. Most of the time I never even share my projects.

1679e8_8a624077922044d1b5ad5811b2efb7a3-jpeg_srb_p_600_819_75_22_0-50_1-20_0-00_jpeg_srbI can’t even tell you how many cover ideas I have for my own titles, and this is nothing against Joe Perrone who did this cover, but I just can’t help myself.

It’s also a plus that the more I work in my various software programs, the more capable I become. I’m always taking a class or doing a tutorial to learn something new and it helps the software tools stay fresh in my mind. I often work on existing covers as my subject.

This is Me Now – Who Next?: The Inspiring Story of a Traumatic Brain Injury Recovery as it is now to your right.

Below  there are a few mocks I roughly designed. I might add that none were chosen and none were completed to a finished cover.  Mr. Ramsey was not looking to have a new cover designed.

I hope to make time to read a few of Mr. Ramsey’s books sometime this year. However it did take me almost a year to make this post. There just isn’t enough hours to do all I want to do.

Check out his blog and books at http://amzn.to/1PjTwX7

3 thoughts on “My part in the making of Bill Ramsey’s cover.

  1. Bill Ramsey

    It has been too long since I last talked with Kimberly. She is dynamic and when she has a good cover idea she does no back down. I urge those seeking a cover designer to contact her.
    On top of everything else she does, she is a dedicated cat fancier. Her title “You Had Me at Meow” and the cover she designed are certain to attract readers.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. KiM Post author

      Thank you Bill. I actually made it to the last WNCWG meeting. I’m happy to be able to get back to covers, cats & clicks. I hope to make time for reading, walking and more enjoyable things other than building and will be glad when we are truly done on the house.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

