Vet Checkup 2017 and a few pics

Despite the fact that hubby shot a nail 16 penny ring shank galvanized nail from a nail gun through his finger this week, as in an entry and exit hole, without going to the doctor. His back and feet are in almost constant pain, from broken ribs and vertebra that would put most people on a disabled list top it off with way too much arthritis.

The fact that I have not been able to smell anything for about 3 years, my left ear has been ringing for over 2 years, the left side of my jaw catching and popping, a tooth that has had a root canal and cap hurts even though it shouldn’t have pain and my right arm still has not healed from whatever I did to it while building the house…

p1040031-e-sm p1040049-e-sm

I made Tyler & Trinity an appointment for this week, mostly because it’s just been awhile. Plus unlike us, they have a doctor. Mostly for a full CBC and possible urine pH test, because they’ll be 10 in a few months. I’ll let you know how it goes.

p1260178-e-e-sm p1260156-sm

Tyler’s teeth have started hitting when he yawns and closes his mouth. On the bottom, best I can tell, he’s missing a tooth in the middle. Skeamer broke her jaw jumping down from the counter while we were cleaning the fish tank and she got scared but Tyler isn’t ‘up’ much and it looks like his jaw is in one piece. He did get his head stuck in glass vase that we had set down off the shelf for a few minutes to run speaker wire, but freed himself before we could help and his teeth were already making that sound. Maybe he’s always had a gap on the bottom? I’m sure the vet will know as they’ve both had dentals. I also want his back felt where the mass was removed from what I think was an injection in the scruff from his first vet. He has also become colder natured and gained weight so I want his thyroid checked. Everything else (anal glands needing emptying, nerves getting him, what looks like bad dreams, doing face plants, drooling when happy, being needy, and him picking on Trinity if he runs out of food) are all still the same.

p1030830-e-e-sm

p1260435-e-sm

I’m still beyond thrilled to say we’ve not seen another seizure from Trinity. I really am wondering if they’re more common than realized and just not everyone would’ve stared at their cat so much after seeing the first one. As far as we know there was no cause. I still want her potassium checked. She won’t eat the CD food anymore so she gets normal grain free food and I give her SD when she starts overlicking, or urinates over the edge of the box -both sure signs her crystals are coming back. She has always looked like she has problems eating, she’s always breathed hard, been snotty and had eye and nose goop. Those things have been like that her entire life and been mentioned at every visit so like some of Tyler’s constants they’ll probably go without being mentioned again other than a checkup.

I’ve been practicing action shots for a Blue Ridge Humane Society “You can’t buy love, but you can rescue it” contest. I’m learning the new office is too dark for settings that used to work, that or, my cats have increased in speed. It brings a smile to my face to see my furbabies still playing at this age.

It brings a smile to my face to see my furbabies still playing at this age!

Side note on my ear ringing. My grandma was always sharing sayings and I remember she said if your ear was ringing it was “right for spite, and left for love”. Well I’m pretty much not feeling the love any longer with it. A chiropractic adjustment, B12 and Biotin are not working.  I asked this earlier this year but have not had any recommendations. 

Can any of you recommend an audiologist to recommended for tinnitus?
It’s been going on about as long as l’ve not been able to smell and since the ENT just tried steroids for my nose I didn’t want to go back to him for the tinnitus, that plus I waited over an hour for my last visit. Well, he did want to do a scan but thanks to obamacare that wasn’t an option last year.


1/19/17 update. $430 later I wait on blood work, poor guys both had to be stuck twice but I didn’t get fussed at for Tyler’s weight gain.

Tyler has at least one tooth with FLORs and needs a dental with at least one extraction. Thank goodness for charge cards. My vet didn’t see evidence of the teeth hitting and making the sound we hear. As soon as the bloodwork results come back I’ll schedule it as I know that can be painful even though it doesn’t look like it’s affected his eating. He indeed did lose one of the little front ones. It’s just gone. Said it wasn’t uncommon.

Trinity didn’t have enough urine for a test so I’ll keep doing the S/D as I watch her. I weighed them both when we got home. something up with their scales.

4/27/11 Trin 10.02 lb Tyler 14.51
4/18/13 Trin 10.95 lb Tyler 14.94
4/28/15 Trin 9.67 lb Tyler 15.2
9/19/16 Trin 11 lbs .06 oz Tyler 15 lbs 1.5 oz
1/19/17 Trin 11 lbs 3.6 oz Tyler 16 lbs 2.8 oz

There is a ‘new’ test out called SDMA and is supposed to be a more reliable indicator of kidney function and detect problems earlier.

They both got treats and loving and now I just hope all the blood work is good,. I asked for potassium on Trinity and thyroid on both. I’d had it done years before and decided last mintue to ask for it on both instead of just Tyler. Hopefully Tyler can have his tooth extracted, radiograph done while under to make sure there are no more and all will be well. I forgot to ask about their joints but I guess if something was wrong he would’ve told me. Said both their hearts sounded okay and they eye goop was no biggie.


1/20/17 I got a phone call from my vet that all bloodwork for both cats came back okay. I’ll go today and pick up the paperwork and schedule Tyler’s dental.

1/23/17 I scheduled Tyler’s dental afte confirming he can compare to the dental in the past and to make sure a digital xray could be done to make sure there isn’t more FLOR’s under the gum line and to make sure there wasn’t tooth left in the missing spot. I picked up the blood work paperwork and 1 thing on both cats was not in the normal range. Tyler’s MCHC and Trinity’s PLT. There was a note on Tyler that there the vet was not worried about value at all, but Trinity’s platelet count had no such note. I’ve got a call in as her platelet count was almost touching the far left side of the graph at 38 K/µL 151-600 LOW.

I picked up the blood work paperwork and 1 thing on both cats was not in the normal range. Tyler’s MCHC and Trinity’s PLT. There was a note on Tyler that there the vet was not worried about value at all, but Trinity’s platelet count had no such note. I’ve got a call in as her platelet count was almost touching the far left side of the graph at 38 K/µL 151-600 LOW.     Update: my vet called me back and said nothing to worry about, had to do with time of blood draw transfer or something and blood acts like one platelet so nothing to worry about. I kinda wondered that since she wasn’t really showing any of the symptoms listed for low platelet count on Dr. Google.  I am thankful he called me back to ease my mind!

One thought on “Vet Checkup 2017 and a few pics

  1. AuthorJoePerroneJr

    Becky also has tinnitus, but her audiologist tells us (and my research bears it out) that there is very little that can be done, short of a white noise supplied in some more advanced hearing aids. If your hearing is basically ok, then there’s not much that can be done.
    Seems like you’re taking excellent care of your cats, however. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

